Antrim Camogie
Cumann Camógaíochta Aontroma
Join Us:      

Ahoghill and Creggan into Junior final

31 Aug 2019

Antrim Junior championship semi-finals

Ahoghill 7-22 Armoy 0-0

Creggan 4-14 Gort na Móna 3-6

It will be a south-west derby final in the Antrim Junior championship after comfortable semi-final wins for Ahoghill and Creggan over the past couple of days.

Ahoghill were 2-2 to the good after just four minutes of their semi-final in Ballymena with Noreen Graham scoring both goals as well as a point after Maura Downey had opened the scoring.

Noreen went on to complete her hat-trick in the 9th minute and Ahoghill went on to lead 4-8 to 0-0 at the turnover, Caitriona Graham’s punt from distance making its way into the Armoy net.

Ahoghill continued where they had left off at the start of the second half with five points before Noreen Graham found the net for the fourth time.

Bronagh Graffin and Caitriona Graham, again from distance, put Ahoghill into seventh heaven and also into a final date with Creggan who also established themselves in the first half in Páirc Naomh Eanna in Glengormley against Gort na Móna.

Goals from Ruby Marie Rice (2), Ciara McCollum and Kelly Mulholland had them ahead on double-scores at the break 4-8 to 2-4.

Gort na Móna’s goals came from Aisling Mccafferty and Caitlin Fox, but they struggled with the pace of Creggan’s attack.

Creggan had a good spread of scores across the forward division with Susan McElwee’s frees keeping the squeeze on Gort na Móna who were able to add a second McCafferty goal – but it didn’t eat into the Creggan lead as the points totted up..

The final is scheduled for Saturday 14th September.

Ahoghill : Angela Townsend, Nicola Doherty, Máiread McCloskey, Sinéad McKenna, Emma McGlone, Éadaoin McGarry 0-1, Tracy Hardy, Caitriona Graham 2-4, Fiona Blaney, Paula Gribben, Áine Graham 1-5, 0-2 frees, Maura Downey 0-5, 0-1 free, Anne Marie O’Neill, Noreen Graham 4-5, Ciara McGuigan.

Subs : Bronagh Graffin 1-1 for C McGuigan, Bronagh McGuigan for AM O’Neill, Fionnuala McKeever for T Hardy, Dearbhla Graffin for E McGlone, Caitlin McLaughlin for P Gribben.

Armoy : Aileen O’Hara, Bronagh Black, Paula Scally, Caitlin McCullagh, Caitlin Gillen, Louise Dornan, Lucia McCormick, Caitriona Devlin, Suzanne Devlin, Cathy Christie, Ciara Devlin, Chloe McArthur, Leah Martin, Jennifer Devlin, Ciara McCurdy.

Referee : John McHenry (Ballycastle)

Creggan scorers : Ruby Marie Rice 2-3, Ciara McCollum 1-3, Kelly Mulholland 1-1, Susan McElwee 0-3, Martine McCann 0-2, Alishia McAuley 0-1, Eleanor Shivers 0-1.

Gort na Móna : Aisling McCafferty 2-2, Caitlin Fox 1-0, Danielle Hughes 0-2, lauren McFarlane 0-1, Anna McCann 0-1


Upcoming Events
No Records
Copyright 2022 Antrim Camogie